The Handmaid’s Tale has already come true – just not for white western women

zoobus:

astrobleme22:

THANK YOU

“ Today there are parts of the world in which renting the womb of a poor woman is indeed ten times cheaper than in the US. The choice of wealthy white couples to implant embryos in the bodies of brown women is seen, not as colonialist exploitation, but as a neutral consumer choice. I can’t help wondering why, if the fate of the fictional Offred is so horrifying to western feminists today, the fate of real-life women in surrogacy hostels is causing so little outrage.

I suppose the main argument of these feminists would be that real-life women choose to be surrogates, whereas Offred does not. But is the distinction so clear? If Offred refuses to work as a handmaid, she may be sent to the Colonies, where life expectancy is short. Yet even this is a choice of sorts. As she herself notes, “nothing is going on here that I haven’t signed up for. There wasn’t a lot of choice but there was some, and this is what I chose.” In the real world, grinding poverty drives women of colour to gestate the babies of the wealthy. As one Indian surrogate tells interviewer Seemi Pasha, “Why would I be a surrogate for someone else if I don’t need the money? Why would I make myself go through this pain?”

Definitely a good read/critique of liberal feminism

The Handmaid’s Tale has already come true – just not for white western women

Want to take immediate revenge on House Republicans who voted to destroy health care? Here’s how

wilwheaton:

white-throated-packrat:

hirakumblr:

#votethemout

Contributing to oppositional nominee funds for 24 vulnerable Republican representatives is a way to get them good and scared now, so they won’t try any more shenangians.

Signal boost:

Contributing to oppositional nominee funds for 24 vulnerable Republican representatives is a way to get them good and scared now, so they won’t try any more shenangians.

This is so incredibly important, because they’ll be looking at fundraising, and so will the Senate.

These 217 House Republicans didn’t just tie themselves to a cruel and vindictive bill. They did it to prop up the most widely-despised president in the history of the country. They deserve to be destroyed, and they must be an example to anyone else who would take the same cruel and harmful actions in the future.

Want to take immediate revenge on House Republicans who voted to destroy health care? Here’s how

Listen Abled Children

twelvesclockworksquirrel:

Gather ‘round. It’s time for a rant of epic proportions:

Listen, I’ve been in the position of being called out for ableism before. So don’t think that I think I’m better than all ya’ll. I was really hurt and angry at the time and didn’t feel the things being said to me were fair. But I was wrong about a lot of the arguments I made back then. I was too busy being upset at the idea that I was being called ableist (how could I be ableist? I have disabled loved ones! I have my own experiences with disability!) to see that I was, in fact, wrong until years later. Ableism is pernicious and pervasive and internalized ableism is even a problem amongst the disabled (including myself).

If you think that developing medical technology or expending resources to save the lives of those who’d otherwise die is a bad idea because of overpopulation (or whatever bullshit excuse) then you are ableist. Period.

See, here’s the thing. You can’t divvy up disabled experiences by type of disability when it comes to this kind of issue. So if you think, “hey…you know what, being quadriplegic is just too horrific to fathom,” or “a baby who is born premature and may have serious life-long complications faces just too terrible a fate” or [insert your personal disability fear and loathing here] so therefore we should always just “let nature take its course” then we (read: you) have a problem

We can’t make the “let nature take its course” argument unless we’re willing to apply it equally to everyone and not just to the people who fall on the other side of the line we draw. That line being each individual’s opinion on what’s just too disabled to be tolerable (even if they’re not the ones who have to live with that disability).

Let’s go back to the preemie example. You can’t say, in 2017, “I don’t think we should be developing or using extraordinary measures (who decides what counts as extraordinary by the way?) to keep preemies alive. There’s just too many of us on this planet and we don’t need more technological miracles to keep even more of us alive.” without me challenging you to follow that line of thinking through its logical progression. Because in the 1920’s the same argument could be made about people with kidney failure by somebody disagreeing with the idea of developing the dialysis machine to keep diabetics alive. And you also can’t say “Oh, well they would have died anyway that’s just part of life. We all die sooner or later.” Because, again, you either have to apply that rule to EVERYBODY or admit that you’re willing to set a demarcation re: which people get to “just die” and which deserve saving.

I mean, you’re not proposing we just let poor people starve to death to decrease the population, right? You’re not proposing we shut down ambulance services because meh, if the roll of the dice says so-and-so has a heart attack or gets in a car wreck they won’t be around to expand the human population even more, right? You’re not proposing we halt cancer research because if someone has the bad luck to get cancer let’s just let it be, right? You’re not saying we shouldn’t bother giving medical treatment to sick people from oppressed communities because their quality of life isn’t as good as our privileged existence, right? Those examples are completely fucking ridiculous, right? Then why does society think that it’s not equally ridiculous to oppose the advance and utilization of medical technology to save the life of a disabled person (in this example, a preemie)? 

Maybe you personally think you wouldn’t want to live with certain disabilities (easy to say when you’re not actually facing that decision) but that isn’t your judgment to make for anybody else. The only life you have a say in is your own. There is a difference between not wanting extraordinary measures used on yourself and contempt for the very notion that it would ever be done for someone else.

I hear disabled people all the time pushing back against the idea that their lives aren’t worth living and it’d have been better if they died, and angrily resisting the idea that they are an unworthy drain on the world’s resources compared to abled people. This is a HUGE issue and we should be listening to disabled voices about it. It was by listening to disabled voices that I realized my previously held attitudes about this issue were wrong and, frankly, fucked up.

Now, I can’t side with those who say women shouldn’t be allowed to abort a fetus because of disability.  Hold on, here’s why: As long as the fetus is still utilizing her body, the mother’s bodily autonomy reigns supreme and I’m not supportive of any law that would restrict her control of her own body (no matter what I think of her reasons for doing so). That isn’t to say I don’t think we need to challenge the ableist culture and ideas that lead people to choose to abort a disabled fetus. We absolutely do. And we need to challenge that whole “for some people raising a disabled child would just be too difficult” thing with “then as a society we need to put in place resources and supports that would make that a non-issue.” But ultimately it comes down to, not my body, not my rules. However, in this post, I’m not talking about a fetus. I’m talking about born babies with disabilities. [Understand that prematurity is a disability and not all disability is permanent. Preemies may or may not continue to have disabilities due to prematurity throughout their life.]

Most parents want the best quality of life for their children. I know I do. But what is it really saying when abled parents or even better, abled non-parents view saving a child’s life, but at the cost of giving them a perfectly able-bodied life, as something that needs to be forgiven? What does is say when people feel that’s it’s selfish or cruel of the parents to save that child? [Yes, those are real attitudes held by real people re: live-saving measures for preemies.] What we’re saying is that a lifetime of health issues or a shortened life is worse than no life at all. And yes, that is ableist. It is asserting that some lives aren’t worthwhile. Further coupling those implications within the context of overpopulation, which is at its core, an issue of resource allocation, the implication becomes that some lives shouldn’t use up our resources. And that’s ignoring the evidence on how serious the population issue actually isn’t. [See Hans Rosling’s TED talks on global population growth for some challenges to population panic.]

I see people all the time in the disability community who actually have a lifetime of major health issues or are facing early death from major health issues desperately fighting to make abled people listen when they say this point of view (that letting them die as infants would have been doing them or the world a favor) is incredibly damaging and not reflective of their lived experiences. 

It’s time to change our thinking. It’s time to listen.

And if this post makes you uncomfortable or angry or indignant then I’d challenge you to really ask yourself why that is. Could it be because you hold some of these ideas I’m challenging and calling ableist and you don’t view yourself as ableist? Look, I get that. I do. Been there. Done that. But just like well-intentioned white people can still be racist, well-intentioned abled people can still be ableist. You don’t have to think “eugenics is a really snazzy concept and boy, that Hitler boy was really on to something” to have a worldview that devalues disabled lives in some way. Now is not the time to get defensive and shut out these new ways of thinking. 

It’s time to push back against the messages about disability you’ve been receiving from society all your life and allow yourself to embrace the possibility that they, and therefore you, have had the wrong idea. 

Growth is nothing to be ashamed about. Realizing you’re wrong is just an opportunity to improve and be an even better person than you were before. Accepting a more compassionate, humble, and understanding stance on an issue you thought you had a handle on not only makes your life more rich and interesting, it makes the whole world a better place. So thanks in advance.

In Trump’s America, Rape Is a Preexisting Condition

cerise-the-traveling-artist:

dealanexmachina:

vaspider:

thebibliosphere:

blueflowwer:

betaruga:

RAPE, POSTPARTUM DEPRESSION, C-SECTIONS, AND SURVIVING DOMESTIC VIOLENCE WILL BE “PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS” UNDER TRUMP’S PROPOSED HEALTHCARE REFORM 

THIS WILL MAKE RAPE AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE DE FACTO LEGAL, IF YOU REPORT RAPE OR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE YOU WILL RISK LOSING YOUR INSURANCE!! THIS LAW WILL HELP PROTECT RAPISTS!!

CALL YOUR SENATORS NOW TO VOTE THIS DOWN!!!

Phone numbers (x)

REBLOG THIS SHIT LIKE WILDFIRE!!

@thebibliosphere Please signal boost!

I think I’ve reblogged like 4 different versions of this but I don’t care. This is despicable and it needs to be stopped. Give them hell.

So yeah.

heartburn is on this list, guys. and it passed in the House with 4 votes. 

CALL YOUR SENATORS NOW.

I know this is a fandom blog, but this is super important for you all to know.

Trumpcare is about to become a thing, and it won’t save anyone, in fact, it’ll kill and indanger people.
If you live in the US, please read this and contact your states senetors.

In Trump’s America, Rape Is a Preexisting Condition

upsidedownfruitcake:

weavemama:

ladyknightthebrave:

ohh-c0mely:

weavemama:

peculiar-pan:

weavemama:

24 million people are about to lose their health insurance all because greedy ass republicans feel like taking it and people still wanna be oblivious to how scary America is getting

And an estimated 48,000 are going to loose their lives.

yeah guys this isn’t an exaggeration……this plan is really fucking bad. literally, 24 million people are gonna be robbed of their healthcare all because rich politicians woke up one morning and decided to make poor people’s lives harder…..,, and that’s not even the end of it. this plan goes against rape victims, those suffering with PPD, domestic violence victims, trans people, abortions/birth control, infants, and maternity leave. people suffering with deadly diseases who had Obamacare in the past will have to pay 10 times more for proper treatment, which will cause premiums to rise. people are literally going to fucking die if this passes through the senate…. “land of the free” my ass. 

THIS IS NOT FUCKING OKAY.  THIS IS LITERALLY SUCH A FUCKING GENDERED BILL TOO.  I AM LIVID AND ENRAGED.  THIS IS NOT PROGRESS. 

Sorry I just reblogged and forgot to add

CALL YOUR SENATOR

LOOK HOW YOUR REP VOTED. IF YOUR REP VOTED FOR THIS CALL THEIR OFFICE, FUCK UP THEIR TOWN HALLS. Some other post put this better but make voting for this bill political suicide thats what killed the last one

Yeah, we can still keep this disaster from being written in stone…. on this informative website, here is a list of all U.S senators and their phone numbers. For those of you who have anxiety (like me), their emails are also provided.

Bitch ass fucktards. I’m lighting their inboxes up fuck them.

sashayed:

sashayed:

If your representative voted Yes on Trumpcare, there’s an upside: You still have a crucial, furious job to do.

The most effective protest, and the one with the best optics, is the one you make physically: showing up at your shitbag Representative’s district office, camera in hand. Be there when he gets to work in the morning. Be there when she leaves. Ask her if she is embarrassed. Ask him if he is ashamed. Tell her interns and assistants about yourself, about your loved ones. Explain to your local newspaper, to neighborhood blogs, to your facebook friends and Twitter followers why you are furious and disappointed and why you will not forget. 

If you would rather call, here’s a potential script. It is maybe not the best? I’m pretty angry.

Hi. I’m calling to register my anger and disappointment at Rep. ____’s Yes vote on the AHCA. [I/my loved ones] am now at risk of losing my insurance, and I am appalled that social programs that personally affect me and my loved ones will be stripped in order to provide tax breaks to the wealthy. Rep. ____ should be ashamed of himself. I and my community will not forget this vote. Will you please take down my information and send me confirmation that the Congressman is listening to constituents? Thanks.

If your rep voted YES and you don’t want to call them, there are PLENTY of people on tumblr who will call on your behalf.