I’d honestly rather millions of drug addicts get safe opiates from doctors, than a single person with chronic pain go without because of the drug addiction fear mongering in the medical community.
Notwithstanding the fact that providing drug addicts with drugs actually decreases addiction rates. As well as saves lives on all ends, because drug addicts are less likely to overdose on unsafe street drugs cut with god knows what, and disabled people are less likely to die from self-medication.
It also decreases the spread of STDs, and so on. There’s endless benefits to it. But uh I guess keep fucking punishing disabled people and addicts because it makes yall feel morally superior or some shit–getting people killed for ideological purity.
Portugal legalized everything, with a couple caveats. If you’re found with (large amounts of, IIRC) drugs multiple times, you get a panel. The panel consists of a lawyer, a judge, and a doctor. Their job is to help you deal with addiction–not PUNISH YOU for having drugs, but help you overcome addiction.
The results? Oh baby, the results are fantastic. Portugal has far less addiction and fewer overdoses than basically anyone else. They’re treating drug problems as medical problems instead of crimes, and it’s absolutely working!
Oh, and America’s opiod crisis? Basically entirely the fault of drug corporations pushing high power painkillers on doctors/patients, including selling oxycontin with a 12 hour dose regimen when studies showed it really didn’t work that long, and refusing to adjust to the science.
And since, oops, it’s highly addictive, people end up getting cut off and then going for street opiods to deal. Instead of, y’know, being properly aided by medical professionals.
America insists on treating drug addiction as a moral failing instead of a medical condition, and it’s killing people.